Skip navigation

Hey there. How’s it goin’? Me? Oh, I’m fine, thanks.

Anyway…

There’s some misinformation that’s been floating around the Internet (how unusual!) and I hoped it would dissipate quickly, but it only seems to be picking up steam. So before it gets much worse, please allow me to set the record straight.

I did a print interview recently where I talked about how I only had one more album left on my current record contract, and how after that I would be weighing my options. I talked about how at that point I might be more inclined to focus on digital distribution, since theoretically that would allow my releases to be more timely and topical. I talked about how quickly the industry is evolving, and how perhaps it might not even make sense to continue releasing conventional albums at that point. In fairness, my quotes in the article seemed pretty accurate. But the headline screamed, “WEIRD AL SAYS HIS NEXT ALBUM WILL BE HIS LAST!” Well, um… no, I didn’t. That’s inaccurate, and extremely misleading, and has caused more than a few fans to freak out. But I guess “WEIRD AL IS CAREFULLY WEIGHING HIS OPTIONS AND ISN’T ENTIRELY SURE WHAT HE’S DOING AFTER HIS NEXT ALBUM!” isn’t quite as catchy, headline-wise. So again, to be clear… if you were led to believe that I’m planning on retiring anytime soon, I’m not (sorry, haters). I truly love what I do, and if I ever stop working, it won’t be of my own free will.

Okay… what else?

I’m on the road right now. This is the tail end of the Alpocalypse Tour, and it’s going great. If you haven’t seen it yet, I behoove you to get yourself to a show – all the summer dates are listed at weirdal.com. We’ll be doing the final dates sometime in the fall, and of course we’ll be sure to list those on my website as soon as they’re confirmed.

Also, I’m extremely excited that HarperCollins is releasing my second children’s picture book – My New Teacher and Me! – on June 25. Wes Hargis did the artwork (as he did for my first book, When I Grow Up) and it’s really wonderful. If you have a kid – or just like to pretend you have a kid – I think you’ll enjoy this book.

And speaking of the book… I’m doing a 7-city book-signing tour at the end of this month! If you live anywhere near Minneapolis, Houston, Milwaukee, Chicago, Cincinnati, Raleigh or Los Angeles, I’d love to see you at one of these book stores. And if you CAN’T make it, but still want a personally autographed copy of the book… guess what? We have the technology! Just contact any of those bookstores before the event, and they’ll arrange to make that happen for you! And if you want a copy of the book WITHOUT my lousy autograph… well, I’m sure Amazon or any other fine online retailer would be happy to sell you one! After the 25th, I’ll bet you could even walk into an actual bookstore and buy a copy! So many options!

The new album? It’s coming along extremely well. I’m about half done with it, and I’m really excited with the tracks so far. So if I’m dismembered in a freak accident next week, at least they’ll be able to release a nice EP. (Can’t wait to see what kind of headlines they’ll make out of THAT!)

Okay, that’s it for now. Thanks for letting me ramble. Hope to see you on the road and/or at the bookstore!

xo,
Al

35 Comments

  1. Oh, a possibility! Now you may want to parady just people from the last 10 years, but here’s a thing … How about Louis Armstrong, *except* with the following words … http://tamino.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/non-linear-trends/#comment-86495 … Bet you can DO them justice …

  2. When is your next world tour? The whole family would love to see you in Tel Aviv. Or otherwise next summer 2015 in Florida!

  3. Hi Al, I am new to this type of stuff so could you please write back to the following questions:

    1. Is Harvey the Wonder Hamster stI’ll alive?

    2. Why don’t you perform in the UK?

    3. On your next tour, can you sing Mr.
    Frump because I like that song?

  4. Dear Weird Al, How have you not yet done a “Pina Colada” song parody that goes, “Do you like tikka masala?” I think THAT’S weird, Al. Sincerely, Andrew Goldberg

    • I came here today after searching for his parody of it. I was expecting “if you like beans and tostadas.”

  5. Why not do a skit on “I’m happy”
    I’m thursty ” Joe

  6. weirdal is talented

  7. Can u please put the music video for”livin in the fridge” on a disc

    • U kneed to lisen 2 “word crimes”

  8. I have written lyrics to a FROZEN (Let it go) parady that all my friends say could really be HOT!
    Would love to see it come to life and you’re just the person that could make it happen! Just let me know if you are interested.

    • Frozen parody.put the video for “livin in the fridge”on disc

  9. Can someone else please read this and confirm that it’s one of the worst articles ever written? Thanks

    http://touch.mcall.com/#story/mc-homepage-0612-9-20140617/

  10. Am can you send the dates you are in Milwaukee to bring you tour of book thanks…Jim love ya…saw you now 11 times since 1983. Ur awesome….

  11. Re: “NOW That’s What I Call Polka!”
    I think the emphasis is in the wrong place, Al… I think it reads better as “Now THAT’S What I Call Polka!”

    • Normally you’d be right…..but I’m sure Al is playing on the title of a popular series of compilation discs, entitled “NOW That’s What I Call Music”
      Here’s their website, in case you’re interested. http://www.nowthatsmusic.com/home/

      • Ah, I see. I think they’ve got it wrong as well, but at least that fact absolves Al. (I should have know Al had a good reason for doing it that way – he’s the master!)

  12. How about doing a version of Shots by LMFAO/Lil Jon as Tots? Of course I mean the culinary delight Tater Tots.

  13. Hi, I’m a Scottish fan and I love your new videos and songs. I especially liked Word Crimes – at least until you said “spastic”. Now, I realise that words have different connotations and you are American so “spastic” has a different meaning but it’s a pretty awful thing to be called in the UK. It’s a derogatory term for a person with cerebal palsy.

  14. Weird Al’s new album, Mandatory Fun is out NOW! And damn is it good! Check it out http://www.weirdal.com

  15. please do a parady to iggy’s im so fancy, i’m so gassy

  16. We are so excited that you came on Gilbert Gottfried’s Amazing Colossal Podcast! For all of your fans, here is an exclusive sneak peek! You can hear the full podcast on Monday 10/13 on http://www.itunes.com/gilbert

  17. hi

    • Hey Al. My Lame Claim to Fame is that I went to High School with you, and my brother Drew was in band with you. Pretty cool and lame at the same time, huh?

  18. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really recognise what you’re speaking
    approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally seek advice from
    my web site =). We can have a hyperlink alternate arrangement between us

  19. Al
    Quick idea for a parody:

    Steppenwolf’s “Born to be wild”
    “Born to Retire”
    Great for baby boomers and young slackers.
    Long time fan.
    Larry

  20. Hi Al. I love your work. Thank you for making the world a better place.

  21. happy birthday Mr weirdal

  22. hi weird al

  23. he weird Al what will your next album be called i just want to know because i think that your songs are aswome

  24. bye

  25. My family is coming to your concert on Tuesday in Austin. If you will be in town on Sunday, we would love for you to join us at church. Email me if you will be around.

    • Desirree Marlena Clonch
    • Posted March 15, 2020 at 7:31 AM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I woke this morning and call to chat to my long childhood friend Bruce Puett an he and I came up with ” My Corona ” a twist to ” My Sharona ” , so now that you have a another great song to write can’t wait to hear what you come up with. Love you and all you do to twist my favorite songs.

  26. this is sincro77
    from vancouver..
    dj turntablist producer engineer….etc (with studio)

    i want to remake tina turner :”
    we dont need Another hero….

    AS :

    WE DONT NEED ANOTHER WEIRDO!

    deejaysincro@hotmail.com

    • hit me up AL

      youre a legendddddddddd

  27. Of course, I’ll reply reply weird Al is one of the best entertainers of all time… I love for him to get a hold of me @ (208)404-6677
    ‘ RocknRick” I know he’s a gentleman and he probably answer this. I just like to know how I go about. start up… classic songs with beautiful new lyrics as I have maybe they’re too sexual but they’re good to. That’s why I have to ask him I mean the whole thing sounds orgasmic to me… are used to entertain entertainers in studio city California on Ventura Blvd., Coldwater Canyon Sportsmans lodge restaurant I was flambé captain Late 80s I would L♥️VE
    His approval please ?$?
    ‘Richard Shaeffer”


Leave a comment